housekeeping
housekeeping
notes on: kate middleton
20
0:00
-40:11

notes on: kate middleton

dehumanization, deification, and the moral panics that fill the space between
20
Transcript

No transcript...

hi!

I had….way too much to say about what has happened this weekend (and what has happened in the last two weeks overall) to fit it into a single TikTok video. So I’m sharing it here instead. It has been interesting, to say the least, to witness the moral panic that has served as an epilogue for this Kate Middleton obsession. In this conversation I wanted to break down my discomfort with this discourse, both in a personal sense (baby’s first cancelling! lol) and in an aerial sense. I also discuss: what I do and don’t regret about my own participation in the Kate Middleton conspiracy theories; which actors I see to be most at fault for what happened here; and the one question I have for any person who has shared some form of how dare you social media post over the weekend. I welcome your thoughts on this topic in the comments below!

Timestamps for the episode:

2:00 timeline 

8:04 the personal fallout

11:38 the moral panic at large

15:36 how do you dehumanize someone?

22:08 who’s responsible?

28:58 celebrities be celebrity-ing 

31:00 my regrets!!!

34:20 a question for people who are angry at the “conspiracy theorists”

20 Comments
housekeeping
housekeeping
conversations about capitalism, modern media, and womanhood.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
caro claire burke